Restaurant’s scathing reply to Tripadvisor complaint about staff member singing

Don’t miss a thing! Sign up to the Daily Star’s newsletter

A customer who complained about restaurant staff singing while they worked found themselves on the end of a stinging response from the eatery’s social media team.

The customer, who goes by the name of "Jevs" on TripAdvisor, said that they had visited The Fountain Inn in Pontarddulais, near Swansea, on March 18.

After enjoying their meal, they complained on TripAdvisor: "Often visit this establishment, the food, environment is really good, but on the last visit 18th March, we had to suffer listening to a member of staff singing (quite loudly) along to the music! It was really off putting and very annoying!".

Sharing the complaint on its social media page, The Fountain Inn replied: "Dear Jevs – We are sorry to hear that you didn't fully enjoy your visit with us on the 18th March, despite the food and environment being really good. At the Fountain Inn we always try to provide our customers with an enjoyable experience and are often complimented for our cheerful and attentive staff.

"Following your concern we have contacted our HR department but unfortunately staff being happy in their work place & expressing this through singing is not a dismissible offence. However, upon your recommendation, we have advised the particular staff member in question that they may wish to withdraw from their upcoming audition for The Voice on the BBC.

"We hope that you will still visit to enjoy our food and establishment in the future and please feel free to tell any annoying staff members to refrain from singing so that you don't suffer from their happiness in future. Kind regards, Team Fountain Inn

Puzzled by the feedback, manager David Charles told WalesOnline that staff had often been complimented on their cheerful moods and "lovely singing".

"It's a sign of happiness and we pride ourselves on a good atmosphere and we all feed off each other, I would never take time out of my day to complain about someone being joyful. I couldn't wrap my head around it.

"My wife usually has customers admire her singing. Our staff all enjoy their work and care about their jobs. It has been a difficult couple of months with all the doom and gloom around Covid and it is nice to come to a place where people can enjoy and escape" he said.

The Inn wanted to share the feedback as an attempt to encourage customers to be more mindful of the difficulties surrounding the hospitality industry.

"We get some wonderful customers but understandably some customers do complain about the smallest of things" added David.

  • In the News

Source: Read Full Article